GSM CSD experiments

As some people asked questions about my experiments with the new CSD support in the Osmocom GSM stack, I just wanted to report what I did and learned along the way.

Disclaimer: I’m just a hobbyist, fiddling around with Osmocom GSM for fun and giggles, I don’t really know what I’m doing here, so take what I’m saying with a grain of salt and maybe enjoy the pretty pictures :grin:

“ISDN” data calls

I was pretty much immediately able to get a working CSD call (9600bps, non-transparent, AT+CBST=71,0,1) between a modern-ish Nokia 6300i and an old 6310i:

(showing incoming PPP frames, easily spottable by the many “~”-characters, which are 0x7E and used as the flag-octet in PPP’s HDLC-style framing)

“Analog” data calls

However, “analog” data calling wasn’t working at all:

In the internet connection setting dialog of Nokia phones, you can select whether the network should try to convert the CSD call into an analog modem (V.32, etc.) call or if it should try to convert it to a regular ISDN B channel protocol.
Other devices like a Nokia Communicator 9110 were tested (because those feature a nice terminal emulation feature, right on the device), but they only supported signalling the analog modem interworking. There is no way to get these very old devices to try and signal an “ISDN” CSD call.

3 small code changes were implemented (in osmo-msc and libosmocore) to get “3.1kHz audio” (aka analog modem) and Fax calls signalled properly. Some Nokia devices were still misbehaving when receiving these calls, presumably due to questionable signalling, which was workarounded with another osmo-msc change.

After that, devices like the Nokia Communicator 9110 could get some connectivity again after many years:

(terminal emulator, showing PPP traffic once again)

Time to test the HTML-capable webbrowser, running on the AMD 486 CPU in this handheld device:

Neat, works like a charm!