Connect to OCTOI via S0-Adapter

Hello, I am trying to connect an ISDN phone to OCTOI using the following instructions:

However, as someone who has no experience with Asterisk, the instructions are not entirely clear. Are there perhaps people here who would be willing to help me reproduce the setup described?

I would like to end up with a guide that allows even absolute beginners to connect ISDN devices to OCTOI using the method described.

I have the following questions to get started:

1. Which kernel modules exactly need to be blacklisted, and how is this done?
  2. Which version of Asterisk is recommended? And what is the recommended installation method?
  3. What exactly is asterisk-dahdi? And what is the best way to install it without installing dahdi via DKMS?
  4. Are additional drivers required for the PCI card?

Thanks a lot and have a nice week!
Florian

I don’t want to slow down your enthusiasm, but it looks to me that this method isn’t something that is “officially supported”, but more or less a documentation of a proof of concept, so I wouldn’t rely on that it is somehow maintained. I’m also not sure whether having a PCI card modded by soldering tiny parts onto it, adding a RF jack and then adding a hardware clock device worth ~160€ is something “absolute beginners” would have fun with :slight_smile:
The official way would be to use the ice1usb and work via E1, maybe putting a E1 ISDN card and a S0 ISDN card into a PC and bridge them could be a more reliable option. I mildly remember that this has been done also, bridging done based on date then, as long as you don’t want to put a full-fledged PBX with E1 port onto the table.

However, I’m not sure what would be the best way currently. There are plans that OCTOI will get a “official” S0-hardware: